Sharks Rally for First Win

Sharks Rally for First Win

Sharks Rally For First Win

Fayetteville, NC-Trailing 8-0 going into the fourth inning, the Wilmington Sharks rallied to score nine unanswered runs to record their first win of the season in dramatic fashion, defeating the Fayetteville SwampDogs 9-8 Tuesday night at J.P. Riddle Stadium.

After Sharks starter Colin Kennedy surrendered seven runs in the first inning, Austin Skipper came on in relief to begin the second.  He threw for six innings and allowed only one run off four hits and recorded four strike outs to keep his team in the game.

"I never though it was over with," said Sharks Head Coach Tyler Jackson.  "It is a long game.  A couple guys started getting hits.  It started going over to everybody which is good to see."

The rally began when CJ Conrad drew a walk to lead off the fourth.  He then stole second and advanced to third on a single by Aaron McKeithanLucas Oxendine singled home Conrad to put the Sharks on the board.  Corey Everett then singled home McKeithan to make it 8-2.  With one out, Tucker Greer singled home Everett and Oxendine to trim the deficit to 8-4.

With two outs in the sixth, Jonah Beamon singled home Tilo Skole to make it 8-5.  With runners at the corners and one out in the seventh, Everett singled home another run making the deficit only two.

Beamon drew a walk to lead off the eighth.  Jacob Plastiak followed with a single that advanced Beamon to third.  With one out, Plastiak stole second.  When the throwdown happened, Beamon took off for home and scored, trimming it 8-7.  SwampDogs shortstop Trent Harris overthrew home plate in an attempt to get Beamon allowing Plastiak to go to third.  With two outs, Oxendine singled home Plastiak to tie the game.  Parker Nolan entered the game to pinch run for Plastiak and stole second.  Everett then hit a double to score Nolan and give the Sharks the lead.

Alex Fenton took over for Skipper and pitched a scoreless eighth.  Henry Cartrett followed with a scoreless ninth to record the save.

The Sharks will be back in action Wednesday night against the Peninsula Pilots at War Memorial Stadium.  Noah Takacs will start on the mound for the Sharks.  First pitch is scheduled for 7:05PM.

The Sharks will return to Buck Hardee Field on Saturday June 8th against the Fayetteville SwampDogs.  The first 500 fans into the stadium will receive a free Sharks hat presented by Pepsi.  First pitch is scheduled for 7:05PM with the gates opening at 6:00PM.


Robert Ambrose


About The Wilmington Sharks

Set in the picturesque Cape Fear region of North Carolina, the Wilmington Sharks are one of the charter members of the Coastal Plain League. Providing affordable family entertainment in a minor league atmosphere, the Sharks have been consistently in the top 25 in attendance in all of summer-collegiate baseball.

About The Coastal Plain League

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 23nd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those - including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. While another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.