Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Sharks Out Play Marlins in Series Finale

Sharks Out Play Marlins in Series Finale

Morehead City, NC-The Wilmington Sharks made all the right moves in the final episode of the Battle of the Beaches in 2019, defeating the Morehead City Marlins 4-1 Monday night at Big Rock Stadium.

The Sharks took the early lead in the top of the third when Cam Jenson led off with a double.  Tilo Skole advanced him to third with a sacrifice bunt.  Jonah Beamon then doubled him home making it 1-0 Sharks.  The Marlins answered back in the bottom of the fourth with an unearned run to tie the game at one.

Skole singled to lead off the top of the fifth and advanced to third on a double by Beamon.  With one out and the bases loaded, Chad Fairey scored Skole on an RBI groundout to give the Sharks the lead back, 2-1.

With one out in the seventh, Beamon singled for his third hit of the night.  He then stole second.  Noah Bridges and Cory Everett followed with back-to-back walks to load the bases.  Fairey came up and singled home Beamon and Bridges to give the Sharks a 4-1 lead.

Noah Takac was sensational on the mound for the Sharks.  He matched his longest outing of the season, going six innings, giving up the one unearned run off two hits, and struck out six.  Troy Britts entered the game to begin the seventh and gave up only one hit in two shutout innings of relief work.  Alex Havlicek came on for the ninth and recorded his sixth save of the season, giving Takac his first win of 2019.

The Sharks will be back in action Tuesday night against the Fayetteville SwampDogs at JP Riddle Stadium.  Mike Picollo (0-3, 9.27) will start on the mound for the Sharks.  First pitch is scheduled for 7:05PM.

The Sharks will return to the Shark Tank Wednesday night against the Florence RedWolves for Hurricane Night presented by Copycat Print Shop.  Gates will open at 6:00PM for a 7:05PM first pitch.


Robert Ambrose


About The Wilmington Sharks

Set in the picturesque Cape Fear region of North Carolina, the Wilmington Sharks are one of thecharter members of the Coastal Plain League. Providing affordable family entertainment in a mino league atmosphere, the Sharks have been consistently in the top 25 in attendance in all of summer-collegiate baseball.

About The Coastal Plain League

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 23nd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those - including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. While another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.