Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Sharks Mercy Rule SwampDogs in Season Finale

Sharks Mercy Rule SwampDogs in Season Finale

Wilmington, NC-The Wilmington Sharks scored eleven runs in the fourth inning on their way to their first mercy rule victory of the season with a 16-3 victory over the Fayetteville SwampDogs in front of a sold-out crowd at Buck Hardee Field Saturday night.

The Sharks began their dominance in the bottom of the first when Tilo Skole led off with a double.  With two outs, Chad Fairey singled him home to give the Sharks a 1-0 lead.  With one out in the second, Tucker Greer hit a double and came in to score on a single by Cam Jenson to put the Sharks up 2-0.

With one out in the third, Cory Everett was hit by the pitch.  He stole second and advanced to third on a throwing error by SwampDogs catcher Konner Piotto.  Fairey double him home to make it 3-0.  Clemente Inclan followed with a two-run home run to extend the Sharks lead to 5-0.

Skole led off the fourth with his third hit of the night and advanced to second when Noah Bridges drew a walk.  Everett singled home Skole making it 6-0.  Fairey drew a walk to load bases.  Zach Bridges then came up and hit his second grand slam of the season to make it 10-0 Sharks. 

The Sharks eventually saw fifteen batters come up to bat in the fourth inning alone, including six batters twice.  The Sharks also saw Skole, Everett, and Noah Bridges score twice in the inning.

Sharks starter Cameron Reeves shutout the SwampDogs through four innings of work on the mound.  He struck out seven including the side in the second inning.  Colin Kennedy came on in relief to begin the fifth and shutout the SwampDogs in the fifth and sixth before giving up three unearned runs in the seventh.


Robert Ambrose


About The Wilmington Sharks

Set in the picturesque Cape Fear region of North Carolina, the Wilmington Sharks are one of thecharter members of the Coastal Plain League. Providing affordable family entertainment in a mino league atmosphere, the Sharks have been consistently in the top 25 in attendance in all of summer-collegiate baseball.

About The Coastal Plain League

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 23nd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those - including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. While another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.